top of page

Music Thoughts

I've always loved music. I feel like I can't say that music is one of my interests because I don't sing, I don't play an instrument, I'm not musically inclined. But I still enjoy it.

I love singing (screaming) at the top of my lungs even though I sound like a dying cat and I love to dance along to the music.

There's just this thing about music that I love but I can't describe.

I was recently listening to a song and I felt this feeling of comfort but I was also frightened by how good the song was. I was frightened because of how lost I got in the song.

I hope I'm not the only one that has felt this way about a song before. Because sometimes there's just songs I listen to that I can really connect to. It's not that I can relate to the lyrics but like the instrumental, the vocals, were made for me and fit me perfectly.

I love listening and finding songs that I can just drown in and feel something.

List of songs that made me feel something:


Even though I love music, I don't enjoy every single genre. I tend to listen to mostly one or two and it made me wonder why. 

Why do we listen to the music that we listen to? Before I google it and find the answer, I want to give my thoughts. It's most likely the environment we grown up in. Our environment and people surrounding us probably influence our taste in music. Most of the people around me listen to hip-hop type of music and I listen to pop. I really do think it's about the people surrounding you because I feel like everyone listens to hip-hop and I'm one of the few who listen to pop. In my environment, people who listen to rap and r&b have friends and listen to that kind of music with friends. I don't tend to hang out with people and I listen to pop by myself.

I've also seen that everyone has one main genre they listen to but they also have random genres that they don't listen to as much and keep to themselves. For me that would be different types of rock.

This is a side note, I hate when people judge a genre that they don't listen to and say that it sucks. It's okay that you don't listen to it but that doesn't mean that it sucks. You don't have to like it, it's not for you.

To be honest, I'm too lazy to google why we listen to the music that we listen to so that will forever remain a mystery.

bottom of page