top of page

Colourpop Lip Review

I am a newbie when it comes to makeup. I've been doing my makeup for a couple of years now but I haven't had the resources to fully dive into the makeup world until now so I am still beginning. I bought my first Colourpop lippie stix more than a year ago and I absolutely loved it but hadn't bought anything else until now. I bought an Ultra Matte in Beeper, Ultra Satin in Calypso and a lippie stix in Wet. I have wanted Beeper for the longest time but hadn't had the chance to buy it until now. I love a nice brown. It's description on the website says it's a "greige rose". It looks more rose wet than it does dry. It is a very dark rose color, maybe like a brown with a rose pink undertone. My first impression was that it was lighter than I thought it was going to be but then it dried down to a darker color that I loved. Because it is a matte lipstick it is a bit drying but not too drying that it is uncomfortable. I wore it to work where I am constantly drinking water and it definitely comes off a bit so it is not waterproof. I still love it though. When I first saw Calypso, I immediately loved the color. The description on the website says it is a "mid-tone pink". To me, it looks like an orangey pink. I had never tried a satin lipstick and I was happily surprised. I love the feel of it on. This one isn't anything proof either so be careful. But it is a beautiful color. I would definitely recommend. I bought Wet because it was on sale and the color just intrigued me. It is very different than anything else I have. The website describes it as a "pearlized taupe". The picture on the website is very misleading though. I thought it was going to be a nice color on its own but it's not. I tried it on and it was very streaky, and just looked weird. It was still beautiful because of the metallic look but it just wasn't doing it for me. I looked at it's reviews and I saw someone comment that it would be a nice top coat. So I used it as a top coat. I thought it would look really cute on a bright color so I put on a NYC lipstick in Blue Rose which is a bright pink lipstick and then put Wet on top of it and wow. It turned the pink into purple and it had a lot of shimmer and it had a space galactic look to it and I feel in love. It looked really good as a top coat. And, surprise! I also received a free super shock shadow in the shade "Birthday Cake". It was Colourpop's birthday so as a celebration they were giving "Birthday Cake" for free with each purchase of $10 or more. I didn't know what to expect but as soon as I opened it, I was amazed. It was so beautiful, it was a pink glittery shadow. I swatched it on my hand and it was very pigmented, very glittery, and very beautiful. When I used it as a pop of color/glitter on my eye, it looked beautiful and it wore really well. I have no complaints. It made me want to try their other super shock shadows. My second Colourpop purchase was a definite success and I can't wait to try more of their products! 


bottom of page