top of page

BH Cosmetics 88 Matte Eyeshadow Palette First Impressions

I bought these items on sale for:

Brush V5 Vegan Blending Brush 2.99

Brush V6 Vegan Large Eyeshadow Brush 2.62

88 Matte Eighty Eight Color Eyeshadow Palette 8.39

I swatched the shades that most caught my eye

(no flash and artificial lighting)

(with flash)

I found the 88 Matte Eighty Eight Color Eyeshadow Palette when I googled "Colorful Eyeshadow". It was the first one that caught my attention because it was "matte" and it had 88 shades!!!! So I went on the website and I bought it and I threw in two brushes too because they were having a sale.

I placed my order early morning and it came to me the next week on Tuesday. I know it didn't take THAT long for me to receive it but I was so excited to get my hands on the palette so I got a bit mad at how long it took. Colourpop set my standards high because of how fast they delivered my order. I was mesmerized at how beautiful the colors were the first time I opened the palette. I decided to do a bit of swatches. I first swatched a metallic looking black and it swatched pretty well. I then swatched a blue one and it swatched well too. Then I swatched the yellow one and it wasn't very pigmented. I then swatched a red and it was the most pigmented out of the four. I later did an eyeshadow look on my sister and I used a blue, orange and yellow. They blended well but they lost their pigmentation very quickly. She then did a look on me and she noticed that not all of the shadows were matte. And then I realized that very few of them are actually "matte". Most of them have a bit of shimmer in them but not as much as a regular "shimmer" eyeshadow. The eyeshadows are more satin than matte. It didn't make me angry that they weren't actually "matte" because all I wanted was colorful eyeshadow and they aren't very shimmery to begin with.

So if you're looking for a true matte, this isn't for you. But if you are looking for a cheap colorful palette then this is perfect.  I would rate this palette 7/10 because of the low pigmentation, shimmer shadows, and how chalky it can be. This will still be my favorite makeup product I own for now though. 

Eye Looks with no primer  (VIDEO) These are the eyelooks my sister and I made. I'm not wearing any makeup other than the eyeshadow (and gloss on the pink eye) and I didn't apply any eye primer.  




bottom of page