top of page

Ipsy July 2017

I received my first ever ipsy bag!!!!!

I got my bag in gold bubble wrap packaging, which is so cute. There was the Gudetama bag and a Lavish Life booklet. I don't know if every order brings a booklet or if I got it just because it was my first bag. The booklet talks about "Ipsy Cash" and it featured beauty and skincare products.

There was a little theme card inside the Gudetama bag which explains the theme which is "Over Easy". The theme is described as "lazy Sunday vibes" and Gudetama is their mascot since it's a sleepy chill over easy egg. 

LET'S BEGIN THE REVIEW:

tarte cosmetics Amazonian clay waterproof bronzer 3.0 g 

As you can see, the bronzer doesn't show up on my skintone, it's the same color as me. I also don't like shimmery bronzers so I'm not going to use it as a bronzer, maybe as an eyeshadow. The packaging is cute though and it's my first tarte product which is exciting. 

Nomad Cosmetics Illuminating Highlighter in Midnight Sun 1.5 g

I love highlighters so as soon as I opened it up, I was in love.... I really like how pigmented this highlighter first showed up on my skin, it's not very brightening though. And as you will see in later pictures, the pigment faded really quick. So I think this product will not work out for me either which breaks my heart!

Ciaté London Wonderand Gel-Kohl Hybrid Liner in Black 0.8 g

I'm going to be honest, I haven't worn black kohl eyeliner since 6th grade. Black pencil eyeliner really isn't my thing but I'm going to have to give it a try once again. I think it's nice that it has a brush on the other end to smudge it out. The liner swatch really surprised me though because it was very smooth and pigmented and it lasted long (unlike the bronzer and highlighter). 

Winky Lux Double Matte Whip in Angel Food 1.8 ml

I'm sorry that I didn't wait for it to dry in the picture....

I thought that the packaging of the liquid lipstick was so cute. I wouldn't have personally picked that color for myself because it is too light for what I'm used to but I actually like it. It is very matte and it doesn't budge at all. The swatch on my arm stayed for a LONG time. I had to vigorously scrub it off. This may have been my favorite product I received in my bag.

Eau Thermale Avène Cleanance MAT Mattifying Toner 25 mL

This is the last product in my bag. I'm going to be honest again.... I don't use a toner. I've only used a toner once before and it made my skin incredibly dry so I decided to not use one again. 

I like the packaging of this bottle too, it's cute. I tried it out after washing my face and I think that it did its job. It wiped away the dirt that was left over and it mattified my face. It didn't over mattify it but it made my face less shiny. The scent wasn't overpowering either, it just smelled like a regular face wipe. The bottle didn't bring any information though, I had to google it.

In the end, my first ipsy bag was a fail. I did discover brands that I hadn't heard of before or wouldn't have purchased myself. I would consider buying full size products of the liquid lipstick and toner though.

But after reviewing the products for a couple of months, I think that I will begin to receive products that I will love. So I'm not going to unsubscribe and I will continue to receive the monthly bags. So stay tuned for future reviews!

Just a little side note: I looked on YouTube and a lot of people have already reviewed their bags so this review might be a little late but I may have had different products then them so it doesn't hurt to give my own opinion. And also ignore my ugly nails!!


bottom of page